The Book

I am thrilled to be able to report that many of the strange tales in these virtual pages are to be written in actual ink and bound together for publication by Simon and Schuster! Yes, it’s true. At some point soon, you will be able to hold in your hands a book entitled Rest in Pieces: The Curious Fates of Famous Corpses. There you will learn all about the posthumous adventures of Che Guevara’s hands, Oliver Cromwell’s head, Descartes’ skull, Einstein’s brain, Galileo’s fingers, and other bodily bits. (I should note that the book is not entirely about severed flesh: there will also be stories of ashes misplaced, stolen, turned into artwork, and otherwise consumed.)

I can think of nothing better than assembling these tales, and I can’t wait to begin later this Spring. Expect more blogging to begin then and continue throughout the summer, since I’m sure I’ll stumble upon many worthy anecdotes. (The best stuff, of course, I must save for the book itself!) For more about the book, see besslovejoy.com.

(PS — if you’d like to be notified when the book becomes available, please fill out the form here and I will send you an email after the pub date.)

My first research folder, with drawing by Ryan Joe
Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “The Book

Leave a Reply

